WhatsApp and Facebook’s ultimatum to users reveals a privacy disaster

WhatsApp has been sharing data with Facebook for years. But many users didn’t realize it until receiving a message saying that they had to consent to further tracking, or WhatsApp would be deleted.

There’s been a lot of confusion and outrage on social media over an in-app notification that informed WhatsApp users that the messaging app’s privacy terms had changed. Users of the application have no choice but to adopt the new terms, or the software will delete itself on February 8. Because privacy terms are so lengthy, convoluted, and complex in the world of ad tracking, many have assumed that the additional collected information puts their privacy and the security of encrypted personal chats at risk.

Read Full Story

Related Articles

Here’s what that WhatsApp privacy policy pop-up means for you

If you use WhatsApp, you probably spotted a pop-up on your phone sometime in the last 24 hours, suggesting that the service has updated its privacy policy — and promptly clicked the button at the bottom to proceed. If you read more closely, you’ll have learned that and users have until February 8 to read and agree to the new terms. Failure to do so would lead to WhatsApp deleting your account. You’re probably not the only one who may have skipped reading the new terms. However, changes in the privacy policy of a chat app with more than 2… This story continues at The Next WebOr just read more coverage about: WhatsApp

Responses

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Weekly Newsletter

Get notified about chronicles from TreatMyBrand directly in your inbox